How reliable is the UK's charity register data about websites?

If you study, fund or sell to UK charities, you start from the same place as everyone else: the public registers kept by the three charity regulators. Each register has a website field, and this paper measures how far you can trust it: how often it's filled in, what's actually in it, how many charities share one website, and whether a recorded address still works. Everything here comes from the registers' own published data plus one measured crawl. No charity's website was contacted to produce this document, and we publish aggregates only - no charity is named or identifiable.

204,071
registered charities
across the three UK registers
42.3%
have no usable website recorded
86,265 of 204,071
107,115
unique web domains
after normalisation and dedup
349
registrations on one shared domain
the largest federation platform
17.9%
of recorded URLs were wrong
measured on first contact, one city - §5

01 · The population

Three registers, one sector - and some double counting

Three regulators - one each for England & Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland - publish their registers as open data. Together they hold 204,071 registrations. But registrations aren't organisations: at least 1,300 charities appear on two registers at once, so our best estimate is 202,771 distinct organisations. The regulators don't publish which records match which, so some of the double counting can't be removed at all.

The totals also miss some charities entirely: "exempt" and "excepted" organisations (many universities, academy schools, some churches) never appear on the England & Wales register, and Northern Ireland's register is still recovering from a 2019 re-registration exercise, so its coverage isn't directly comparable.

204,071registrations1,300known dual registrations=202,771distinct organisations
Fig. 1Where the 204,071 registrations sit - share of the combined registerPNG
  • England & Wales - Charity Commission (CCEW)172,09484.3%
  • Scotland - OSCR24,97412.2%
  • Northern Ireland - CCNI7,0033.4%
Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0

02 · The website gap

Between 41% and 50% of register records hold no usable website

42in every 100 register records hold no usable website

Fig. 2One cell per percentage point of the registered populationPNG
86,265 of 204,071 records · Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · query register-website-gap
Fig. 3The same gap, by registerPNG
England & Wales (CCEW)41.0%
Scotland (OSCR)48.7%
Northern Ireland (CCNI)49.5%
Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · query register-website-gap
Note: just because a charity hasn't listed a website doesn't mean it doesn't have one. These figures describe the register, not the charity - section 5 measures the difference.
The figures - by register
RegisterOrganisationsNo usable websiteShare
England & Wales (CCEW)172,09470,63641.0%
Scotland (OSCR)24,97412,16348.7%
Northern Ireland (CCNI)7,0033,46649.5%

Smaller charities are far less likely to have a website recorded

The same gap, cut by annual income

Fig. 4Records with no usable website, by charity incomePNG
Under £25k56.4%
£25k-£100k35.4%
£100k-£2m19.2%
Over £2m8.2%
Income not reported53.2%
Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · query register-website-gap, by income band

More than half of the smallest charities have no usable website on the register, compared with fewer than one in ten of the largest. Any study built on "charities with websites" will therefore skew towards big organisations, even though small ones make up most of the sector.

The figures - by income band
Annual incomeOrganisationsNo usable websiteShare
Under £25k102,37357,73656.4%
£25k-£100k39,29013,89335.4%
£100k-£2m44,9208,60619.2%
Over £2m7,2785948.2%
Income not reported10,2105,43653.2%

03 · Data quality

What is actually in the website field

Fig. 5What the website field holds - 204,071 recordsPNG
57.7% usable once normalised
Bare address · 46.2%Blank · 40.9%
  • Usable once normalised117,806 · 57.7%
  • Bare address - no https:// prefix94,353 · 46.2%
  • Complete https:// URL13,972 · 6.8%
  • Complete http:// URL9,481 · 4.6%
  • Blank - nothing recorded83,427 · 40.9%
  • Not a website at all2,838 · 1.4%
  • A social-media profile1,258 · 0.6%
  • Unparseable text1,318 · 0.6%
  • An email address262 · 0.1%
Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · a "bare address" is a web address entered without its https:// prefix - usable, but only once a consumer adds the prefix back

When the field is filled in, the most common entry isn't a full URL - it's a bare address like example.org.uk with no https:// in front. That's fine for a person, but software has to correct it, and every system corrects it slightly differently. Beyond that come the stranger entries: Facebook pages, email addresses, and text that isn't a web address at all, all filed as "the charity's website".

If you build anything on this field, write your clean-up rule down - two studies with different rules will disagree about which charities "have a website".
The figures - what the field holds
What the field holdsRecordsShare
A bare address without http(s):// - usable once normalised94,35346.2%
A well-formed https:// URL13,9726.8%
A well-formed http:// URL9,4814.6%
Blank83,42740.9%
A social-media profile, not a website1,2580.6%
Unparseable text1,3180.6%
An email address in the website field2620.1%

04 · Shared domains

One website is not one charity

118,008
usable website entries
107,115
unique registrable domains
5,043
domains recorded by more than one charity
4.7% of domains · 15,933 organisations
107
federation & platform domains (10+ each)
4,579 organisations between them
Fig. 6The ten most shared domainsPNG
Domain #1349 charities
Domain #2291
Domain #3230
Domain #4229
Domain #5155
Domain #6154
Domain #7147
Domain #8146
Domain #9144
Domain #10143
Each bar is one website domain; its length, how many charities record it as theirs. None is named, because a domain identifies its organisation. Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · domains reduced to registrable form (Public Suffix List)

These are the web platforms of national movements: guiding and scouting federations, food-bank and church networks, corporate trustees. Hundreds of local branches all point at one national site. We don't name any of them, because naming the domain would name the organisation.

Counting charities and counting charity websites are not the same thing. When 349 registrations share one domain, mixing the two up shifts results by whole percentage points - every figure should say which one it counts.

05 · The uncomfortable pair

Despite being updated annually, charities still get their website URL wrong

The recordsFiling is largely up to date

Fig. 7Organisations whose filings are up to date, by registerPNG
England & Wales (CCEW)84.5%
Scotland (OSCR)90.0%
Northern Ireland (CCNI)70.6%
Source: CCEW · OSCR · CCNI register extracts, as at 13 September 2026 · Open Government Licence v3.0 · reporting status normalised across the regulators' vocabularies - full breakdown below

By the regulators' own accounting, most charities file on time. So the registers aren't stale in the way people usually assume - the records themselves are looked after.

The figures - filing state, normalised
RegisterUp to dateFiled lateOverdueNewOther
England & Wales (CCEW)84.5%4.8%5.6%4.9%0.2%
Scotland (OSCR)90.0%9.7%0.3%
Northern Ireland (CCNI)70.6%11.7%12.9%4.8%0.0%

The website fieldThe addresses are not

Fig. 8Recorded URLs wrong on first contactPNG

17.9%of recorded URLs were dead, parked or pointing at a different domain

155 of 868 recorded websites - about 1 in 5.

Source: measured crawl of one entire local authority (Bristol), August 2026 · query register-url-wrong

The website field is a different matter. In August 2026 we crawled every recorded charity website in Bristol - 868 of them - and nearly one in five didn't work: the address was dead, parked, or pointing at a different domain. Bristol alone can't give us a national figure; that's what the next stage of this research is for.

Note: a further 7 recorded sites asked our crawler not to visit. We didn't, so they are excluded here rather than counted as broken.

06 · Register watch

The register never sits still

13,012
changes recorded
since 15 August 2026
385
charities newly registered
224
registrations removed
330
website addresses changed
the §5 failure mode, live

The Charity Commission rebuilds its register extract nightly, and this page keeps up: our pipeline checks the new edition every morning, diffs it against the last, and regenerates every figure above from the current register. Hover a bar for the day's breakdown - charities registered and removed, website addresses, incomes, names, postcodes and reporting statuses changed.

Fig. 9Register records changed, per extract editionPNG
80024 August 2026: 163 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 4 website addresses moved25 August 2026: 578 changes · 30 newly registered · 13 removed · 12 website addresses moved26 August 2026: 561 changes · 19 newly registered · 9 removed · 18 website addresses moved27 August 2026: 558 changes · 11 newly registered · 7 removed · 18 website addresses moved28 August 2026: 563 changes · 21 newly registered · 3 removed · 9 website addresses moved29 August 2026: 496 changes · 9 newly registered · 6 removed · 8 website addresses moved30 August 2026: 230 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 3 website addresses moved31 August 2026: 212 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 4 website addresses moved1 September 2026: 343 changes · 2 newly registered · 0 removed · 4 website addresses moved2 September 2026: 863 changes · 27 newly registered · 13 removed · 12 website addresses moved3 September 2026: 601 changes · 17 newly registered · 11 removed · 10 website addresses moved4 September 2026: 509 changes · 28 newly registered · 6 removed · 11 website addresses moved5 September 2026: 478 changes · 24 newly registered · 6 removed · 14 website addresses moved6 September 2026: 143 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 7 website addresses moved7 September 2026: 180 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 6 website addresses moved8 September 2026: 593 changes · 25 newly registered · 6 removed · 17 website addresses moved9 September 2026: 609 changes · 19 newly registered · 5 removed · 19 website addresses moved10 September 2026: 494 changes · 11 newly registered · 16 removed · 17 website addresses moved11 September 2026: 510 changes · 28 newly registered · 16 removed · 13 website addresses moved12 September 2026: 455 changes · 15 newly registered · 25 removed · 10 website addresses moved13 September 2026: 151 changes · 0 newly registered · 0 removed · 5 website addresses moved24262830135791113
Source: nightly CCEW extract diffs, 15 August 2026 - 13 September 2026 · counts of changed register records, aggregate only
A moving website address is exactly the failure mode section 5 measures - and each day's movers join the queue for the next crawl pass.

07 · Key takeaways

Ready to quote

Feel free to copy and share these - please credit Nebula Design and link back to this paper.

Method, reproducibility and licence

Sources. Charity Commission for England and Wales daily register extract; OSCR Scottish Charity Register download; Charity Commission for Northern Ireland register export - all as at 13 September 2026, all used under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (register data is Crown Copyright). Postcode geography: ONS National Statistics Postcode Lookup (February 2026 edition), OGL v3.0.

Processing. Registered main records only: subsidiary (linked) registrations and removed charities are excluded. Website fields are normalised with a single written rule (scheme added to bare addresses; social profiles, email addresses and unparseable values classed as unusable). Domains are reduced to registrable domains using the Public Suffix List. The §5 crawl read one homepage per recorded website with an identified crawler honouring robots.txt (details: nebula.design/bot), at most a handful of requests per site; no security scanning of any kind; no personal data collected. Sites whose robots.txt disallowed us were never requested and are reported as not assessed: they are excluded from every crawl-derived rate on this page, numerator and denominator alike, because we hold no observation of them at all.

Figures. Every query-backed figure names its query; the pipeline reruns it against the frozen snapshot and gets the same number. Queries used: register-website-gap (run register, as at 13 September 2026); register-url-wrong (run 2, as at 21 August 2026).

Disclosure. Aggregates only. Cross-tabulated cells below n=10 are suppressed, and the rendered document is checked against the source data before writing so that no charity name or domain can appear.

Cite as: Nebula Design (2026), How reliable is the UK's charity register data about websites?, nebula.design/research.

Questions, corrections, or the underlying aggregate tables: [email protected]. Corrections will be listed here with dates.